Detecting which type of moped it is.

General discussion forum for repairing and riding mopeds

Moderators: ItsLookingUp, pehuskey, Tab, mountainmoped, JD, John

Detecting which type of moped it is.

Postby simmisj » Fri Aug 31, 2012 9:02 am

Hi.
I recently bought a moped. The model is Piaggio Ciao but I can't identify it further. Can someone help me identify it?
If you want further information then please ask. I am very new to riding mopeds and I simply don't know what information I should provide you with to help you, help me.

EDIT: Ehem.. I did not see that the maximum file size can only be 256kb. I will try to shrink the picture but maybe you can point me in a direction of what I should search for on the bike to identify it. Where is the registration number printed on the chassis for an example?

:)

Extra question: How should you properly shut down the engine? (two stroke)

Thank you in advance.
simmisj
Net Rider

re: Detecting which type of moped it is.

Postby TPR950H » Fri Aug 31, 2012 10:35 am

hit the kill switch to shut down the engine. vespa piaggio ciao:

http://www.mopedarmy.com/wiki/Vespa_Ciao
TPR950H
Net Rider

Postby John » Fri Aug 31, 2012 4:02 pm

Or choke it.
John

"Plan your life like you will live forever, and live your life like you will die the next day!"
John
Master Regional Rider

Postby simmisj » Mon Sep 17, 2012 9:38 am

Sorry for not answering sooner. Have been busy with school work.

Okay, so it does not hurt the moped at all to always choke it when I want to shut it off? That's what I have been doing so far.

It is a Piaggio Ciao but I have not been able to locate the serial number that I need to give to my insurance company. Also, I don't know how I can figure out what year it is or a specific model. According to the manual there are models called: P-PV-PX and PXV. Any idea how I can figure this out?

Here is a picture of it: Image

Thanks
Simmi
simmisj
Net Rider

Postby John » Mon Sep 17, 2012 11:03 am