79 Puch Free Spirit Project

General discussion forum for repairing and riding mopeds

Moderators: ItsLookingUp, pehuskey, Tab, mountainmoped, JD, John

79 Puch Free Spirit Project

Postby RebelRider.Mike » Mon Aug 05, 2013 3:46 am

I'm a newbie DIY bike mechanic learning on a 1979 Puch Free Spirit.
It's a 2 hp, E50 engine.
14 mm Bing Carburetor with a #68 jet.
Most everything is stock for now, but that will change.

Well, I brought it out this spring to make sure it still runs; but it didn't.
A little starter fluid and it cranked right up... then died. So air, spark, compression. Where's the fuel? Tank is full. I pulled the fuel hose off the carb and opened the valve. No fuel from either on or reserve.

One of the things I like about the Free Spirit is that the tank is removable. So off it came along with the fuel valve:
For such an old gas tank, I'm surprised at how clean it is. A little rust around the valve threads, but that's it. Fuel came out clean too. I was very excited to learn that the valve itself can be disassembled. The rubber parts were all good. Inside I found the channels full of gray stuff:
I got that cleaned out and all the parts back together. Looks almost new:
Got it all back together with fresh fuel. Turned on the valve and look what happened:
Now the bike starts up without cheating with starter fluid, and seems to run ok. I'm losing power at full throttle, so more stuff will need to be checked.
Mike

1979 Puch Free Spirit
1987 Honda Rebel
2014 Ural M70
RebelRider.Mike
Net Rider

re: 79 Puch Free Spirit Project

Postby RebelRider.Mike » Mon Aug 05, 2013 6:50 pm

After cleaning the fuel valve, the bike starts easy, but the idle kept fluctuating. I decided to do some reading and watch some videos and clean up my carburetor. One thing I noticed is that the throttle feels "crunchy" somehow. Found out why: